top of page

VALUABLE LESSONS TO BE LEARNT – How to make the “Rule of Law” flexible to suit your needs – How to s


The recent theatrics by the NGOs and the lobbies supporting them have taught me some very valuable lessons.

However, I have to tread carefully here. These are persons who make pc capital – that is capital of so-called ‘Political Correctness’. Naturally, they do this when it suits them to cry “foul” but then do not shy away from spreading damaging remarks and sentiments themselves.

Let me explain. When further down in this Blog I allude to various animals – I am NOT relating them or comparing them to humans! I am merely using them as an example. I hope that is absolutely clear because I am now sick and tired of some people twisting my writing to suit their own interpretations, avoiding the issue and going off in tangents by moving the goalposts (quite appropriate as we are in World Cup time!)

I have learnt two very valuable lessons:

  • The “Rule of Law” is very flexible and can be bent to suit your needs when necessary;

  • How to solve your problems, satisfy your conscience and plonk your problems on somebody else and then wash your hands off them.

Let me take the first point. Now I have it from no less than two prominent lawyers. The “Rule of Law” is very flexible and can be twisted and interpreted to suit your needs – especially when it comes to gaining political leverage.

Former PN Deputy Leader and a prominent lawyer, Dr Mario DeMarco, has pronounced the “Law is an ass” if it means a sea captain is taken to Court to answer for breaches of International Maritime Law.

Well, well … so if I claim that I robbed a bank and stole €1 million because I wanted to buy a villa like some other people – then the Law will close one eye and state “that’s ok then – no problem”.

Good to know. I will keep that in mind and certainly appoint Dr DeMarco as my Defence Lawyer if this case should ever occur.

Let me give another example. I am the Government but there are people who do not agree with my governance. So I create a Secret Police Squad and they go around arresting, beating and torturing my opponents and then disposing of them.

A prominent lawyer intervenes and points out I am breaching the “Rule of Law” and the Constitution. I reply that the “Rule of Law” and the Constitution “are asses” and hence carry on with what I am doing because it is in the interests of “national security”.

He follows another prominent lawyer and a former PN Minister Dr Jason Azzopardi who earlier more or less expressed the same sentiments as Dr DeMarco. However, I would prefer to appoint Dr DeMarco should needs be!

Now, these come from a lobby which upholds the rights to select Judges and Magistrates for Court cases as well as to appoint the Police personnel you want to carry out investigations in order to satisfy “The Rule of Law”.

Dr DeMarco further clarified his statement and I quote:

“It is ironic that while we are selling passports to millionaires, we are stopping migrants from entering our safe harbours.”

Right, so by the same score we should stop all tourism too because these are people coming here to enjoy themselves while migrants are not allowed to enter safe harbours. We should stop all businessmen and entrepreneurs from coming here too because they are out to make money. Well, let’s go all the way and stop all movements of everybody …

Now, let’s move to the second valuable lesson learnt. The NGO crews and lobbies have come up with loads of sentimental heart-string pullers to justify their collecting people and dumping them on somebody else – which of course solves their quests and their problems.

They maintain “we have done our bit – now let somebody else carry the headache”.

This is tantamount to my taking pity on stray cats and dogs on streets, so I form a gang and we start collecting them. Now, what to do with them? Naturally, taking them into our own homes is entirely out of the question. So, what’s next?

Easy really; put them in boxes, give them a little bit of food and water and then plonk the boxes on peoples’ doorsteps so they find them and then it becomes their problem to solve – because we have done our bit.

That is precisely what these NGOs are doing while making great claims about being humanitarian and humane and thus pleading to be allowed to continue.

In perfect PR mode, Capitano Claus-Peter Reisch who is being accused of breaching International Marine Law cited his elderly and ailing mother as being justification for him being allowed conditional release to enable him to carry out his filial duties as his elderly mother depends on them.

I have no doubt she does. But surely, being a sea captain means spending long periods of time at sea – which hardly relates to carrying out regular domestic, filial duties.

Some things are certainly very hard to swallow!

ALBERT JEROME FENECH

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page